The GEKRY 7-port metal hub is the best overall pick for most PC owners who connect several external drives, because its 36W AC adapter leaves real headroom and the metal body can be mounted under a desk. If you need only a few ports, the SABRENT 4-port is the simpler buy. A powered USB 3 hub has its own wall adapter, so bus-powered portable drives do not have to share the limited current a motherboard or laptop port can spare. That matters most when a spinning 2.5-inch drive starts up. The six hubs below range from 4 to 11 ports.
Our Top Picks
Top 3 picks at a glance
Quick List
- GEKRY 7-Port Metal Hub – best for a multi-drive desk or rack setup that needs a 36W adapter
- SABRENT 4-Port Hub (HB-UMP3) – best for a compact four-drive setup with per-port switches
- Atolla 8-Port Hub – best for builders who want eight ports plus one charging port and a 5V/4A adapter
- Atolla 4-Port Hub – best for laptop and small-form-factor users who want a short 65 cm cable
- Wenter 5-Port Hub – best for a few data ports plus a Type-C charging port
- Wenter 11-Port Hub – best for maximum port count for backup stations and drive docks
Which One Is Right for You?
Start with how many drives you actually plug in at once, then check the adapter. Port count is easy to over-buy; adapter capacity is what keeps drives from dropping out.
| If you… | Choose |
|---|---|
| run three to six external drives and want the strongest listed adapter | GEKRY 7-Port Metal Hub |
| need four ports on a tidy desk with a clear on/off switch for each | SABRENT 4-Port Hub (HB-UMP3) |
| want eight ports and a 5V/4A adapter in one hub | Atolla 8-Port Hub |
| use a laptop or mini PC and need a short cable to a nearby hub | Atolla 4-Port Hub |
| want four data ports plus a Type-C charging port for a phone or tablet | Wenter 5-Port Hub |
| manage a backup station with ten data ports | Wenter 11-Port Hub |
If most of your devices are portable 2.5-inch hard drives, favor the hubs with a stated adapter rating (SABRENT, Atolla 8-port, GEKRY). If your drives are fast SSDs, remember that every port shares one 5 Gbps link, so a smaller hub is often the better fit. Desktop 3.5-inch drives with their own power bricks barely care about hub power at all.
All 6 Picks in Detail
1. SABRENT 4-Port Powered USB 3.0 Hub (HB-UMP3) – Best for a compact four-drive desk setup
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases at no extra cost to you.
The HB-UMP3 is the plain, no-nonsense option in this group. Its listing highlights individual LED-lit power switches on each port and an included 5V/2.5A power adapter, which is exactly what a bus-powered drive hub should advertise. With four ports it suits a PC builder who keeps a game library drive, a backup drive and one or two flash devices attached.
The per-port switches are more useful than they sound. A drive you rarely use can be switched off so it stops spinning and drawing current, and a misbehaving device can be power-cycled without unplugging the cable. The 2.5A adapter is the main limit: four hard drives starting at the same moment could ask for more than that on paper, so stagger your power-ups or mix in SSDs, which draw less.
In practice, this is the hub to look at if your build already has a small stack of portable drives for game libraries, capture footage or photo archives. Place it where the LEDs are visible, label which drive sits on which port, and you get an at-a-glance view of what is powered. Keep the adapter on the same surge-protected strip as the PC.
- 4 downstream USB 3.0 ports
- Individual LED-lit power switch per port
- Included 5V/2.5A power adapter (about 12.5W)
- Designed for PC use, per the listing
- Cable length and port spacing: confirm on listing
Pros
- Clear adapter rating stated in the listing
- Switches let you power down idle drives
Cons
- Only four ports
- 2.5A can be tight if four spinning drives start together
Compared with the Atolla 4-port, it trades a cable-length detail for a more explicit adapter rating and LED-lit switches.
2. Atolla 8-Port Powered USB 3.0 Hub – Best for eight ports with a 5V/4A adapter
Atolla’s eight-port hub is the choice when a four-port hub is already full. The listing names a 5V/4A adapter, one smart charging port and individual on/off switches. That gives you seven ordinary data ports plus a port meant for topping up a phone or controller, which is handy on a desk where the PC is the main charging source.
The 4A rating is 20W at 5V, roughly 60 percent more than the SABRENT adapter, and it is what makes eight ports reasonable for portable drives. Even so, eight spinning 2.5-inch drives drawing their worst-case current would exceed it, so treat eight as a connection count, not a power budget. Use the switches to keep unused drives off, and let SSDs fill most slots.
Because it combines data and charging in one body, it can replace a separate charger on a desk that already has a PC, a handful of drives and a controller. Label the ports, keep the charging port for phones, and leave one or two slots empty so cables are not forced into awkward bends behind the case.
- 8 ports in total, including one smart charging port
- Individual on/off switches
- 5V/4A power adapter included
- USB 3.0 data hub splitter, per the listing
- Port spacing and body size: confirm on listing
Pros
- Large port count with a stated 4A adapter
- Dedicated charging port keeps devices topped up
Cons
- Not every port can be fed at maximum draw
- Bulkier than four-port hubs
It offers more ports than the GEKRY 7-port, but the GEKRY lists a larger 36W adapter and a mountable metal case.
3. Wenter 11-Port Powered USB Hub – Best for a backup station with many devices
The Wenter 11-port is the biggest hub on the list: ten data ports plus one smart charging port, each with an individual LED on/off switch. It targets people who keep many flash drives, card readers and external drives connected, such as someone cloning or archiving media from a rack of old drives.
Size cuts both ways. Eleven ports on one upstream link means every device shares the same 5 Gbps connection, so simultaneous copies slow each other down. The listing text calls the data ports faster, but the truncated title does not show a precise speed class, so confirm the USB 3.0 rating and the adapter output on the product page before relying on it for sustained transfers.
It makes the most sense as a stationary station rather than something you carry around. Mount or tape it to the back of a desk, connect it with a short cable to a rear port, and use the switches to enable only the drives you are working with. That keeps the total current draw and the bandwidth competition down.
- 10 data ports plus 1 smart charging port
- Individual LED on/off switches
- Splitter-style hub for desktop or laptop
- Power adapter rating: confirm on listing
- Upstream cable length: confirm on listing
Pros
- Highest port count in this group
- LED switches show which port is live
Cons
- Adapter output is not clear from the listing name
- All ports share one upstream link
Choose it over the Atolla 8-port only if you truly need ten data ports; otherwise the 8-port gives clearer power information.
4. Atolla Powered USB Hub 3.0, 4-Port – Best for laptops and small desks needing a short cable
This four-port Atolla pairs a charging port with individual switches, and the listing mentions a 5Gbps interface and a 65 cm cable. That cable is long enough to place the hub beside a laptop or under a monitor arm, yet short enough to avoid clutter. It states compatibility with laptops, desktops and Macs and plug-and-play operation.
Unlike the larger Atolla, the listing excerpt does not give an adapter amperage, so treat power capacity as unconfirmed. For a pair of portable drives and a flash stick it should be fine, but if you plan to run four hard drives, look at a hub with a stated rating. The charging port is best saved for a phone, not for a drive that needs stable data power.
A short cable also helps signal quality, since USB 3.0 is more sensitive to long or poorly shielded runs than older standards. For a small-form-factor PC tucked behind a monitor, this kind of compact hub is easier to hide than the eight- and eleven-port models and is less likely to block neighboring ports.
- 4-port powered hub with a charging port
- Individual switches per port
- 5 Gbps interface, per the listing
- 65 cm (about 25.6 in) upstream cable
- Adapter amperage: confirm on listing
Pros
- Short, practical cable length stated
- Mac, laptop and desktop compatibility noted
Cons
- Adapter rating not visible in the listing name
- Only three or four usable data ports once charging is counted
Next to the SABRENT, you gain a charging port and a stated cable length but lose a clearly published adapter rating.
5. Wenter 5-Port Powered USB 3.0 Hub – Best for data ports plus a Type-C charging port
Wenter’s five-port model splits its ports into four data ports and one Type-C charging port, again with individual LED switches. The Type-C port is the draw: a modern phone, tablet or earbud case can charge with a Type-C cable, and the hub keeps it out of the way of drives.
It is small, and small hubs rarely need a huge adapter, but the listing excerpt does not publish the adapter output. If you connect more than one hard drive, confirm the rating on the product page. For two drives, an SSD and a charging cable, it is a neat desk companion. Note that the charging port is not described as carrying data, so do not plug a drive into it.
Think of it as a desk accessory for a mixed-use PC: a backup drive, a card reader, a headset dongle and a phone cable. It is the easiest model here to live with if you dislike large hubs, and the LED switches make it obvious when a drive has been powered down on purpose.
- 4 data ports plus 1 Type-C charging port
- Individual LED on/off switches
- Powered USB 3.0 hub, per the listing
- Adapter output: confirm on listing
- Cable length: confirm on listing
Pros
- Type-C charging suits current phones
- Compact with simple per-port control
Cons
- Adapter output not stated
- Charging port cannot be counted as a fifth data port
It is the lighter-duty sibling of the Wenter 11-port, built for tidiness rather than for many drives.
6. GEKRY 7-Port Metal Powered USB 3.0 Hub – Best for multi-drive desks with a 36W adapter
The GEKRY hub is our top overall pick. Its listing highlights a metal case that can be mounted and a 36W AC adapter, the strongest adapter figure of any hub here. Seven Type-A ports cover a typical mix of portable drives, a card reader, a dongle and a controller.
Metal helps in two ways. It resists the flex and cracking that thin plastic hubs suffer when cables tug, and it spreads heat from a hub that runs all day. Mounting holes or brackets let you fix it under a desk or inside a rack so cables stay put. As with every hub, the seven ports share one upstream link, so very fast SSDs will compete for bandwidth. Confirm the exact adapter voltage and whether the ports carry individual switches on the product page.
For builders who run a small home server or NAS-style setup of external drives, the combination of a sturdy case and a generous adapter is reassuring. Mount it where airflow is decent, keep the cable runs short, and label the adapter so nobody swaps it for a weaker one from another gadget.
- 7 powered Type-A ports
- Metal case, mountable
- 36W AC adapter included
- USB 3.0 data hub
- Per-port switches: confirm on listing
Pros
- Largest stated adapter in the group
- Sturdy, mountable metal body
Cons
- Switch and charging details not shown in the listing name
- Larger footprint than plastic four-port hubs
It trails the Atolla 8-port on port count but leads it on the stated adapter wattage and build material.
Specs Compared
| Hub | Ports | Adapter | Charging port | Per-port switches | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SABRENT HB-UMP3 | 4 | 5V/2.5A | Not stated | Yes, LED-lit | Designed for PC |
| Atolla 8-Port | 8 (incl. 1 charging) | 5V/4A | 1 smart charging | Yes | Splitter-style hub |
| Wenter 11-Port | 11 (10 data + 1 charging) | Confirm on listing | 1 smart charging | Yes, LED | Highest port count |
| Atolla 4-Port | 4 | Confirm on listing | Yes | Yes | 65 cm cable, 5Gbps |
| Wenter 5-Port | 5 (4 data + 1 Type-C) | Confirm on listing | 1 Type-C | Yes, LED | Compact |
| GEKRY 7-Port | 7 | 36W AC adapter | Confirm on listing | Confirm on listing | Metal case, mountable |
How We Chose These
We built this list from the product names and specification fields in current catalog listings, then checked what a powered USB 3 hub is supposed to provide against general guidance on USB power and bandwidth. We favored hubs that state an adapter rating, offer per-port control and clearly separate data ports from charging ports. Where a listing does not state a value, we say so rather than guess. We did not buy or handle these hubs, so there are no claims about measured speeds or long-term durability. Compatibility and exact ratings should always be confirmed on the product page before you buy.
What to Look For
Adapter rating versus port count
The adapter is the part of a powered hub that matters most for external drives. USB 3.0 ports are specified to supply up to 900 mA at 5V, while USB 2.0 ports supply up to 500 mA. A portable hard drive may ask for most of that when its platters spin up, then settle lower while reading.
Rule of thumb: multiply the number of spinning drives you plan to run at once by 0.9A, then compare the total with the adapter’s amperage at 5V. Four portable hard drives at their worst case need 3.6A, which exceeds a 2.5A adapter and fits inside a 4A one, though only just. SSDs usually draw much less, so a mixed hub is easier to power. If the listing gives only watts, such as the 36W on the GEKRY, check the output voltage before assuming 5V.
Desktop 3.5-inch drives normally have their own 12V power brick, so the hub only has to carry data for them.
As a quick worked example, imagine a hub with a 5V/4A adapter feeding two portable hard drives and a flash drive. Two drives at 0.9A plus 0.3A for the stick is 2.1A, well inside the limit, even before spin-up spreads out. Add two more drives and the worst-case figure reaches 3.9A, which is why a stated amperage matters more than the number of ports on the box.
Shared bandwidth and real speeds
A USB 3.0 hub, also marketed as USB 3.2 Gen 1, offers 5 Gbps of upstream bandwidth in total. After encoding and protocol overhead, real-world throughput on a single device is usually in the 350 to 450 MB/s range. Every drive on the hub shares that one link.
A portable hard drive rarely exceeds roughly 150 MB/s, so two or three of them can copy at once without much penalty. A single fast external SSD can nearly fill the link on its own, so put it directly on the PC or give it a hub to itself. A larger port count does not add bandwidth, only connections.
Charging ports and per-port switches
A smart or BC 1.2 charging port is meant to deliver higher current, often 1.5A or more, to a phone or controller. It is a charging feature, not an extra data port, so keep drives off it unless the listing says otherwise. Type-C charging ports, as on the Wenter 5-port, charge with Type-C cables but should not be assumed to carry data.
Individual switches are a quality-of-life feature. They let you cut power to one drive without pulling the cable, and they help you stagger spin-up so the adapter is not hit by every drive at once.
Build quality, cable and placement
Metal cases such as the GEKRY’s dissipate heat and resist cable strain. A short upstream cable, like the 65 cm one on the Atolla 4-port, keeps the hub within reach of a laptop. Plug the hub directly into a rear motherboard port rather than a front panel header or another hub, and avoid daisy-chaining powered hubs, which stacks bandwidth sharing and failure points.
Use the cable supplied, or a short, well-shielded USB 3.0 cable, and keep the adapter on a surge-protected outlet so a power blip does not reset every drive at once.
If you plan to leave drives attached around the clock, give the hub airflow, keep it away from direct sunlight and remember that spinning drives generate their own heat. A warm hub that disconnects drives under load is usually a sign of an underpowered adapter, not a faulty drive.
Questions
Do I need a powered hub for external hard drives?
Often yes. Portable hard drives can draw close to the full current a USB port provides, and a laptop or front-panel port may not deliver it reliably. A powered hub supplies its own current, which reduces disconnects and clicking from drives that cannot spin up.
Will a powered hub make my drives faster?
No. A hub never exceeds the speed of its upstream link, and power does not change the data rate. A powered hub only makes the connection more stable by giving drives enough current.
Can I plug a powered hub into another hub?
You can, but it is not recommended. Chaining hubs makes devices share one upstream link even more tightly and adds more points of failure. Connect a powered hub directly to a USB 3.0 port on the PC.
What is the difference between a data port and a charging port?
A data port carries both data and power. A charging port is tuned to deliver extra current to a phone or tablet, and some designs are not meant to carry data at all, so check the listing before plugging in a drive.
Is a USB 3 hub backward compatible with USB 2 devices?
Yes. USB 3.0 ports accept older USB 2.0 devices, which run at their own, slower speed. They also share the hub’s upstream link, but a slow device uses very little of it.
How many external drives can one hub run?
It depends on the adapter. As a rough guide, divide the adapter’s 5V amperage by 0.9A for the number of hard drives that can spin up together in the worst case. SSDs need far less, so you can connect more of them.
Update History
- October 20, 2026 – Initial publication; product set drawn from current catalog listings.
- Check the product page for current specifications and availability before buying.
Sources
- Retailer listing titles and specification fields for each hub
- Hub-maker and technology-publisher guidance on powered versus bus-powered hubs, shared USB 3.0 bandwidth and BC 1.2 charging ports (including Plugable, Anker, HP and Tom’s Hardware)









